Dowgray Award recognizes undergrad research at McFarlin Library

Friday, May 08, 2009

The winners of the inaugural John L. Dowgray Library Undergraduate Research Award for 2008–2009 were announced this week with $2,250 in cash prizes.

Named in honor of Dr. John L. Dowgray, former TU provost and director of Petroleum Abstracts, the award is designed to recognize excellence in undergraduate research papers that incorporate skill and creativity in the application of the services, resources and collections of McFarlin Library.

A jury of TU faculty members and librarians reviewed papers nominated by other faculty members. The 2009 winners are the following:

First place: Nicholas Thorne, “Russian Arms Sales to Developing Nations: For Strategic Revival or Commercial Survival?” nominated by Tom Horne (Political Science)

Second place: Stefan Baer and Dan Morie, “Analysis of the US Airline Industry,” nominated by Jill Hough (Management)

Third place: The two third-place papers were written by Stephanie Johnson, “La Critique Baudelairienne de la Societe Capitaliste due 2nd Empire dans Le Spleen de Paris,” nominated by Karl Pollin (Languages); and Vickram Jairamani and Cecilia Slater, “Industry Analysis: Pharmaceuticals,” nominated by Jill Hough (Management)

Thanks to a generous gift from long-time TU employee John Bailey, associate director of Petroleum Abstracts, three cash awards for outstanding research papers were awarded: First Prize - $1,000, Second Prize - $750, Third Prize - $500.

Papers completed in an upper division (junior or senior level) undergraduate course during either the Fall 2008 or Spring 2009 semesters were eligible for the awards.

David Hamby