TU provost named to Governor's Science and Technology Council

Thursday, July 14, 2011

University of Tulsa Provost Roger Blais, who also serves as TU’s vice president of academic affairs, was appointed to the Governor’s Science and Technology Council on Thursday.

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin announced the appointments and said the council will be headed by state Secretary of Science and Technology Stephen McKeever. The council was reinstated by executive order for the purpose of identifying opportunities for the growth of science and technology industries in Oklahoma.

Blais earned a bachelor's degree in physics and French literature from the University of Minnesota in 1966, and a doctorate in experimental physics from the University of Oklahoma in 1971. He earned a certificate in business from UCLA in 1986 and graduated from Harvard Institute for Educational Management in 2000.

All of the council’s appointees are filling new positions and are serving at the discretion of the governor. Each appointment will last through 2015. Appointees do not draw a yearly salary.

“Cutting edge technologies in industries like energy, aerospace, bioscience, and agriculture are an important ingredient to economic growth and job creation, which is exactly why I have decided to reinstate the Governor’s Science and Technology Council. Each of the men and women I have chosen to serve on the council are experienced, innovative professionals who will do everything they can to move the state forward in the areas of science and technology,” Fallin said.

The following is a list of appointees who will be serving with Blais:

• Dave Humphrey and Howard Barnett, both of Tulsa;
• Web Keogh, Joseph Ferretti, Michael Carolina, and Sheri Stickley, all of Edmond;
• Scott Rollins, Tom Walker, John Frick, and Ben Robinson, all of Oklahoma City;
• Jerry Malayer and Colin Cumming, both of Stillwater;
• Wes Stucky of Ardmore;
• David Myers of Ponca City;
• Warren Thomas of Lexington;
• Major General David Ralston of Lawton; and
• Kelvin Droegemeier of Norman.


Mona Chamberlin