Students, alumni receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Nine TU students awarded fellowships worth $120,000

The University of Tulsa is pleased to announce that nine TU students and alumni have been awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships. The NSF program recognizes and supports outstanding students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics who are pursuing advanced degrees at accredited U.S. institutions.

The following TU students and alumni each have been awarded $120,000 for an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for a total of more than $1 million.

Logan Brooks (BS ’12) of Euless, Texas, studied computer science, electrical engineering and mathematics as an undergraduate at TU. He is pursuing a master’s degree at TU in computer science while researching methods for analytical and empirical analysis along with the prediction of virtual agent population behavior. He plans to earn a doctorate in computer science.

Tricity Andrew of Enid, Okla., is a senior at TU majoring in mathematics with minors in biology and business administration. She is expected to graduate this spring and pursue a doctorate in applied math and computational biology.

Kirby Smithe of Broken Arrow, Okla., is an engineering physics senior. He plans to earn a master’s degree and prepare for a career in nanoelectronic device fabrication.

Ahmed El-Kishky of Tyler, Texas, is a mathematics and computer science senior. He will intern at a Silicon Valley startup company. In the fall, he plans to attend graduate school and pursue a doctorate in computer science.

Shreela Palit (BS ’11) of Tulsa earned a degree in psychology and is now working toward a doctorate in clinical psychology at TU. She is specializing in pain psychophysiology and currently serves as laboratory manager in Professor Jamie Rhudy’s Psychophysiology Laboratory for Affective Neuroscience.

TU also recognizes the following alumni who have received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships while pursuing additional degrees at other universities: Maria Holland (BS ’11), Caitlin Clancy (BS ’10), Rebecca Pollet (BS ’11) and Casey Davis (BS ’11).

Gail Banzet