Outstanding teacher awards 2013

Friday, April 05, 2013

The University of Tulsa Faculty Affairs Committee is pleased to announce its selection for the 2013 Outstanding Teacher Awards.

butkin wilson wisecarver
Robert A. Butkin
Professor of Law
Jan D. Wilson
Associate Professor of History
Keith D. Wisecarver
Professor of Chemical Engineering

The Outstanding Teacher Award is one of the most prestigious forms of recognition faculty can receive at TU. Initiated in 1980, the honor is limited to three faculty members per year – fewer than 1 percent of the resident faculty. Nominations are submitted by students, and the Faculty Senate's elected Faculty Affairs Committee makes final selections. Recipients will be acknowledged during the May 11 commencement.

Butkin serves as faculty adviser to the Energy Law Journal and is a Fellow of the Sustainable Energy & Resources Law Program. He has been at the TU College of Law since 2005 and specializes in contracts and both state and local government law. Butkin's professional affiliations include the Oklahoma Bar Association and the U.S. 10th Circuit Court of Appeals.

A TU faculty member since 2007, Wilson is an associate professor of history in the Henry Kendall College of Arts & Sciences. She specializes in U.S. women's history, women's and gender studies, U.S. labor and social movements, and history of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era. Wilson is a member of the American Historical Association and the National Women's Studies Association.

Wisecarver has served as a professor of chemical engineering in the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences since 1987. His areas of research include petroleum refinery processes, multiphase chemical reactors, and computer-aided process design. He is a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

TU congratulates these faculty members for their commitment to academic and student success.

Mona Chamberlin