TU faculty recognized by StateStats.org

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Nonprofit honors professors for excellence in the classroom, campus and community

The nonprofit website StateStats.org and its partner OnlineSchoolsOklahoma.com have named 10 University of Tulsa faculty to its list of top Oklahoma college professors for 2013. Each year, the websites seek post-secondary educators who recently have been recognized for excellence in the classroom, campus and community.

The following faculty in the TU College of Engineering and Natural Sciences were named among the Top 20 Science and Engineering Professors in Oklahoma:

Cem Sarica
Dr. Sarica was recently named the F.H. “Mick” Merelli/Cimarex Energy Chair in TU’s McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering. He serves as director of the Tulsa Fluid Flow Projects, Paraffin Deposition Projects and Horizontal Well Artificial Lift Projects.

Dylan P. Brennan
Dr. Brennan is an associate professor of physics and engineering physics. He is a recent recipient of the Zelimir Schmidt Award in recognition of his work investigating the non-linear aspects of magnetohydrodynamic stability theory.

Keith D. Wisecarver
Dr. Wisecarver is a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering. His research focuses on petroleum refinery processes, multiphase chemical reactors and computer-aided process design. He was honored earlier this year with the prestigious TU Outstanding Teacher Award.

Robert Sheaff
Dr. Sheaff is an associate professor of biochemistry at TU. His research targets the biochemical basis of human diseases such as cancer and neurodegeneration.

Roger Mailler
Dr. Mailler is an associate professor in the Tandy School of Computer Science and director of the Computational Neuroscience and Adaptive Systems (CNAS) Lab. His research areas of interest include distributed sensor networks.

Sanwu Wang
Dr. Wang is an associate professor in the Department of Physics and Engineering Physics. He recently received the Zelimir Schmidt Award in recognition of his work in materials simulation and condensed matter theory.

The following TU faculty were listed among the Top 20 Women Professors in Oklahoma:

Kalpana Misra
Dr. Misra is the new dean of the Henry Kendall College of Arts and Sciences and an associate professor of political science. Her areas of research focus on intellectual developments in Post-Mao China and international relations in South Asia.

Vicki Limas
Limas is director of the L.L.M. in American Indian and Indigenous Law program at the College of Law. Her scholarly interests focus on employment law, particularly employment issues affecting Indian tribes and individuals.

Anila T. Madhan
Dr. Madhan is an assistant professor of finance in the Collins College of Business. She specializes in portfolio management and taxation in the School of Finance, Operations Management and International Business.

Jan D. Wilson
Dr. Wilson is an associate professor of history and recently was awarded a TU Outstanding Teacher Award. She specializes in U.S. women's history, women's and gender studies, U.S. labor and social movements, and history of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era. Wilson recently was awarded a TU Outstanding Teacher Award.

StateStats.org is nonprofit organization that builds free, open source tools to increase accessibility to education and information through the use of new technologies. OnlineSchoolsOklahoma.com offers Oklahoma citizens information about post-secondary education options along with information and advice on career choices.

Gail Ellis