Faculty win distinguished teaching awards

Thursday, April 10, 2014

TU has selected faculty members Joanne Davis, Evelyn Hutchison and Mohan Kelkar to receive the 2013-14 Outstanding Teacher Award.

The honor is considered one of the most distinguished faculty awards at TU. Candidates are submitted by student nomination, and winners are selected by the Faculty Senate’s Faculty Affairs Committee. Recipients will be honored at TU’s May 10 commencement ceremony.

Joanne Davis is an associate professor of psychology and serves as co-director of the Institute for Trauma, Abuse and Injustice. She joined the TU Department of Psychology in 2001 after earning a bachelor’s degree in psychology from State University of New York at Albany as well as master’s and doctoral degrees in clinical psychology from the University of Arkansas. Davis’ research focuses on identifying cognitive, emotional and behavioral aspects of traumatic experiences. She also studies nightmares and sleep problems in individuals exposed to trauma.

Evelyn Hutchison is an associate professor of legal writing in the TU College of Law. Prior to joining the faculty in 2001, she practiced in Tulsa, specializing in bankruptcy and family law. Hutchison earned a bachelor’s degree in Spanish and a master’s degree in history at TU before graduating from TU Law. She is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association and the American Bar Association.

Mohan Kelkar holds the Williams Endowed Chair professorship in the McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering, where he serves as department chairman. Kelkar also serves as director of the TU Center for Reservoir Studies, an oil and gas consortium at TU’s North Campus. He received a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Bombay in India along with a master’s degree in petroleum engineering and a doctorate in chemical engineering from the University of Pittsburgh. Kelkar later graduated from the TU College of Law and joined the petroleum engineering faculty in 1983. He is a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

TU congratulates its outstanding faculty members for their dedication to student achievement and academic research.

Mona Chamberlin