Combined Degree Programs

Combined bachelor’s/master’s degree programs at the University of Tulsa allow exceptional TU undergraduates to be admitted into a master’s degree program and begin earning graduate credit while still an undergraduate. In most cases, this graduate enrollment while an undergraduate allows the student to complete a master’s degree in only one year of graduate studies.

Elizabeth Thompson

From American Indian Princess to Schoolgirl

Elizabeth Thompson, a 2008 doctoral graduate from the University of Tulsa Department of English, has brought to light the little known past of American Indian girls and their experiences in the early American school system.

In 2007, Thompson received an American Dissertation Fellowship from the American Association of University Women (AAUW) in the amount of $20,000 to continue her research. She was one of 63 AAUW fellows nationwide to win the award that year and the only one from a university in Oklahoma.

The nationally competitive year-long fellowship supported Thompson as she completed her dissertation, "From Princess to Schoolgirl: American Indian Girls and Anglo Depictions of their Conversions." This project, which made extensive use of archival materials in TU's McFarlin Library's Special Collections, studied portrayals of Native American girls and young women in the British American colonies and United States through the early twentieth century.

"The Faculty of English are very proud of Elizabeth," said her dissertation director, Laura Stevens, associate professor of English. "We consider this prestigious award to be a sign of the excellent contributions she promises to make to the field, as well as of the growing prominence of our graduate program."

Admission to a combined bachelor’s/master’s degree program is limited to exceptional undergraduates. Please consult with the appropriate graduate program advisor before applying for admission into a combined degree program.

Applied Mathematics (BS/MS)

Dr. Shirley Pomeranz
918-631-2990
pomeranz@utulsa.edu

Biochemistry (BS/MS)

Dr. Robert Sheaff
918-631-2319
robert-sheaff@utulsa.edu

Biology (BS/MS)

Dr. Harrington Wells
918-631-3071
harrington-wells@utulsa.edu

Chemical Engineering (BS/ME)

Dr. Daniel Crunkleton
918-631-2644
daniel-crunkleton@utulsa.edu

Chemistry (BS/MS)

Dr. Kenneth Roberts
918-631-3090
kproberts@utulsa.edu

Engineering Physics (BS/MS)

Dr. Scott Holmstrom
918-631-3031
scott-holmstrom@utulsa.edu

Geosciences (BS/MS)

Dr. Peter Michael
918-631-3017
pjm@utulsa.edu

History (BA/MA)

Dr. Christine Ruane
918-631-3814
christine-ruane@utulsa.edu

Physics (BS/MS)

Dr. Scott Holmstrom
918-631-3031
scott-holmstrom@utulsa.edu