TU professor receives Oklahoma Chemist Award

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

TeetersUniversity of Tulsa Chemistry Department Chair Dale Teeters, who holds the world’s first nanobattery patent, has been honored with the Oklahoma Chemist Award. It is the most prestigious honor given to an Oklahoma chemist each year.

Teeters was recognized for his “outstanding contributions in fabrication and characterization of electrolyte systems in nanoporous membranes” on March 12 during the 56th Annual Pentasectional Meeting of the American Chemical Society in Bartlesville. ACS President Nancy Jackson presented Teeters with the award. 

Teeters graduated from Thomas High School in western Oklahoma. He received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Southwestern Oklahoma State University in 1975 and his doctorate from the University of Oklahoma in 1981.

He worked with Dow Chemical in Freeport, Texas, until joining The University of Tulsa as an assistant professor of chemistry in 1983.

Teeters was issued the world’s first nanobattery patent in 2003, and in 2005 he and his graduate student published his investigation of lithium battery nanoelectode arrays. His work progressed and most recently focused on fabrication and characterization of electrolyte systems in nanoporous membranes.

Teeters has more than 50 journal publications and seven patents, and has authored four book chapters. His external research funding totals $10 million from federal agencies and private corporations.

Teeters served as a board member of the Oklahoma Nanotechnology Initiative, was on the Steering Committee of the NSF Oklahoma NanoNet Center, and has organized the Five-State Undergraduate Nanotechnology Symposium. Beyond his service to chemistry, he has been active in Leadership Tulsa and was a founding member and member of the Executive Committee of Leadership Oklahoma.

TU chemistry Professor Bob Howard, who received the Oklahoma Chemist Award in 2000, nominated Teeters for the honor.


Mona Chamberlin