Two TU Physics Professors Win 'Educator of Year' Award

Thursday, November 18, 2004

University of Tulsa physics faculty members Jerry McCoy and Saibal Mitra have jointly received the "Oklahoma Higher Education Educator of the Year" award from the Oklahoma Science Teachers Association.

Mitra and McCoy were recognized for a two-week workshop for high school physics teachers that they have presented three times in the summer. The workshop helps teachers devise physics demonstrations using readily available equipment.

Also noted were the "Nanomaterials Workshop for High School Teachers" presented by Mitra and Winton Cornell of TU’s geosciences department, and McCoy’s Journal Club in which people interested in physics, including high school and college students and teachers, meet each month during the school year for an informal discussion of physics topics.

The award was presented Oct. 21 at the association’s annual conference in Tulsa.