Alumni Newsletter - October 2012 - School of Petroleum Engineering

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

MSPE Wins at the SPE Annual Conference

The Society of Petroleum Engineers held their Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition October 7-10, 2012 in San Antonio, Texas. We are proud to announce the following award recipients from the McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering:

  • Cem Sarica , Professor, received the SPE Distinguished Member Award.
  • Ken Gray (B.S. ’56, M.S. ‘57) was awarded the SPE Technical Drilling Award.
  • The SPE Student Section won the Gold Standard Award for the third year in a row. Our student section has worked very hard for this honor. 
  •  Oliver Wilson, senior and SPE Student Section President (2012), placed first in the Student Paper Competition for his paper “Water Handling and Disposal for a Rapidly Developing Field.” 
  •  Yahya Hashemian, Post-Doctoral student, placed third in the Student Paper Competition with his paper on “Prediction of Barite Sag in Horizontal Annular Flow.”  

SPE Research Fellowship Award

The Society of Petroleum Engineers recently initiated the SPE Research Fellowship Award to encourage research among young faculty. This award is international in scope and applications were received from all over the world. Dr. Rami Younis, Assistant Professor, was selected to receive one of the awards for his research on “Full Resolution Field Scale Numerical Simulation of Geologic Carbon Sequestration Strategies.”  

New Instructor

Jose GamboaWelcome to Dr. Jose Gamboa. He holds a B.Sc. in Mechanical Engg. from Universidad Metropolitana, M.Sc. in Mechanical Engg. from Universidad Simon Bolivar, and a PhD. in Petroleum Engg. from The University of Tulsa (TU). Prior to coming to TU, Jose gained 10 years industry experience as an Artificial Lift Specialist at the Venezuelan Institute of Petroleum Technology. Jose currently teaches Drilling Engineering I, Natural Gas Production Engineering and the Production Engineering Lab.  

New Deptartment Assistant

Welcome to Jan Riggs. Jan joined our department this fall on a part-time basis to provide additional support to our faculty, staff, and students.

Special Thanks

Sincerest thanks go out to the following companies who have sponsored Lunch & Learn Meetings for the SPE Student Section so far this semester:Zeeco, BP, WPX Energy, Baker Hughes, Don-Nan, Berexco, Spectrum Tracer Services, and Cimarex. Thank you for investing your time and energy in our students.

We would also like to thank Dr. Rami Younis (TU), Dr. Randy Hazlett (TU), Dr. Marc A. Hesse (University of Texas-Austin), Dr. Pierre Delfiner (PetroDecision), and Dr. Robello Samuel (Halliburton) for speaking at our graduate seminars to date this semester.