MSPE Students Win at KU Sponsored Technology Bowl

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Competition prepares students for 2013 SPE PetroBowl

Two teams of students from the McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering (MSPE), accompanied by Prof. Mohammad Shahvali, competed in a Technology Bowl on April 1st in Wichita, Kansas.  The competition, hosted by the University of Kansas, was created to prepare students for the September 30, 2013 PetroBowl competition to be held in New Orleans at the Society of Petroleum Engineers' (SPE) Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition (ATCE). Competing teams also included the University of Kansas, University of Oklahoma, and Missouri Science & Technology University. TU’s Team A (Yuanhang Chen, Corey Hardegree, Doyle Kindle, and Benjamin Paek) and Team B (Yermek Alzhanov, Wyatt Brennan, Ulku Sarica, and Scott Wolters) made it to the finals with Team A winning first place. Congratulations to all of our competitors for a job well done!

Shown left to right: Scott Wolters, Yuanhang Chen, Benjamin Paek, Corey Hardegree, Doyle Kindle, Ulku Sarica, Yermek Alzhanov, Wyatt Brennan