MSPE Student Receives SPE Nico van Wingen Fellowship

Wednesday, April 03, 2013

Mojtaba ShahriCongratulations to Mojtaba Shahri, recipient of the 2013 Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Nico Van Wingen Memorial Graduate Fellowship. Award recipients are nominated by the SPE Student Chapter Faculty Advisor or Department Chair. Up to two awards are given in the amount of US$5,000 each per year.

Mojtaba is a Ph.D. student in the McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering at The University of Tulsa. He received his B.S. (2008) and M.S. (2010) degrees in petroleum engineering at the Petroleum University of Technology (Ahwaz, Iran) and earned a first place ranking in both undergraduate and graduate studies. Mojtaba also ranked first in the University of National Entrance Examination of the Graduate Program. Mojtaba has more than twenty publications in different journals and conferences related to petroleum engineering and also served as technical reviewer for petroleum engineering related journals. He was also the 2012 Henry Dewitt Smith Fellowship recipient.

Shahri's research interests include wellbore stability, multiphase fluid flow, and drilling fluids.  He is currently conducting research on the coupled fluid flow-geomechanical modeling of reservoirs for predicting reservoir stress path under supervision of Dr. Stefan Miska and Dr. Mengjiao Yu at the Tulsa University Drilling Research Projects (TUDRP) on TU's north campus.