Back-to-School Welcome Reception

Thursday, August 21, 2014 from 05:30 PM to 07:00 PM

John Rogers Hall, The Pit

Students, faculty, alumni, and members of the Oklahoma legal community are invited to a back-to-school networking reception at John Rogers Hall. 

This year we honor the 2014-2015 President of the Oklahoma Bar Association, Renee DeMoss, and her contributions to the legal profession.

RSVP to Aubrey Metts at 918.631.2506 or by August 20.

About Renee DeMoss
Reneé DeMoss is the President of the 17,500 member Oklahoma Bar Association.  A shareholder in the Tulsa, Oklahoma, office of the GableGotwals law firm, her current practice includes insurance litigation and ERISA matters as well as general commercial litigation.  She holds an “AV Preeminent” rating through Lexis Nexis/Martindale-Hubbell.

Ms. DeMoss has been with the GableGotwals firm for 26 years, since her graduation from the University of Oklahoma College of Law in 1984, where she graduated with honors and as a member of the Order of the Coif, the Order of the Barristers and the Oklahoma Law Review.  She obtained her undergraduate degree from Oklahoma City University, graduating summa cum laude with a bachelor's degree in history/political science.

Ms. DeMoss is a member of the Southern Conference of Bar Presidents, which is comprised of bar associations from 17 states and the U.S. Virgin Islands.  She has served on the Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors for four years, as a multi-term delegate to the OBA Annual Meeting and as an Oklahoma delegate to the American Bar Association Mid-Year and Annual Meetings.  She has been actively involved with the OBA Long Range Planning Committee, Client Security Fund Committee, Budget Committee, Rules and Bylaws Committee, Professionalism Committee and Law Schools Committee.

Ms. DeMoss has served as the President of the Oklahoma Bar Foundation, and is Past President of the Tulsa County Bar Association and the Tulsa County Bar Foundation. She is a Fellow of the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and an OBA Fellow of the American Bar Foundation, and has served on the Board of Trustees of the National Conference of Bar Foundations. 

Ms. DeMoss was the recipient of the OBF President’s Award in 2003, the OBA Mona Lambird Spotlight Award in 2007, the OBA Alma Wilson Award in 2008, and the OBA Hicks Epton Law Day Award and ABA Outstanding Law Day Award in 1999. Ms. DeMoss received the TCBA President’s Award in 1993, 1999, 2000 and 2010, and received the TCBA Golden Rule Award in 2011.  Ms. DeMoss was recognized in 2010 by the Journal Record for the Woman of the Year awards and in 2011 for Leadership in the Law.  She received the Golden Quill Award from the Oklahoma Bar Association in 2012.

Ms. DeMoss has also been involved in a variety of community organizations, including Big Brothers & Big Sisters of Green County, Tulsa Lawyers for Children, Operation Aware, United Way, Leadership Tulsa Class XVII, and the Nature Conservancy.



Aubrey Metts