Dean’s Advisory Board Announced by TU College of Law

Friday, April 30, 2010

The University of Tulsa College of Law announced the formation of the Dean’s Advisory Board, which will provide valuable insight, vision and guidance as the college implements its strategic plan to advance the law school.

Janet K. Levit, Dean and Dean John Rogers Endowed Chair, said the advisory board will include alumni and friends of the law school who will work in concert with the college and its alumni association. The advisory board will provide valuable perspective during this important season in the law school’s history.

“Our faculty and alumni have played a vital role in the recent notable advancements at the law school,” Levit said. “As we implement strategies to take the TU College of Law to the next level, it is important for us to include diverse voices in the discussion, which will be an important role for the advisory board.”

The board will be divided into four committees focused on helping the law school advance in specific areas:

• The Clinical Education/Community Outreach Committee will explore opportunities for the law school to provide crucial services to the community through clinical and other legal programs. This committee will be chaired by The Honorable Claire V. Eagan, Chief Judge of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma.

• The Legal Profession Committee will brainstorm on how to best prepare students to navigate a rapidly changing profession and meet the highest professional standards. Joel Wohlgemuth, Shareholder and Director at Norman Wohlgemuth Chandler & Dowdell, will chair this committee.

• The Fundraising Committee will initially focus on raising money for the $3 million renovation of John Rogers Hall scheduled for summer 2011. The Chapman Charitable Trusts contributed the first $1 million toward  this goal for asbestos abatement. This committee will be led by Tulsa business leader Stuart Price (J.D. ’82) and Michael C. Turpen (B.S. ’72, J.D. ’74), Director at Riggs, Abney, Neal, Turpen, Orbison & Lewis.

• The Marketing and Reputation Committee will provide input on law school strategies to engage different audiences across the country with the TU College of Law’s story. Harold W. Salisbury (J.D. ’88), President of Oklahoma Offset, Inc, will chair this committee.

Members of the Dean’s Advisory Board are:

Caroline H. Abbott
(B.A. ’97, J.D. ’00)
Legal Outreach Coordinator
Mental Health Association of Tulsa 

Cassie M. Barkett (J.D. ’00)
Junior League of Tulsa

Jack L. Brown (J.D. ’84)
Jones Gotcher & Bogan P.C.

Louis W. Bullock, Jr.
Bullock, Bullock and Blakemore

Robert A. Butkin
The TU College of Law

Mary Quinn Cooper (J.D. ’86)
Eldridge Cooper Steichen & Leach P.L.L.C.

Frederic Dorwart
Frederic Dorwart Lawyers

The Honorable Claire V. Eagan
Chief Judge, U.S. District Court
Northern District of Oklahoma

Elizabeth Frame Ellison
The Lobeck-Taylor Foundation

Scott A. Graham (J.D. ’03)
Seymour and Graham, LLP

Gregory A. Gray, Esq.
(B.S ’76, J.D. ’85)
Rogers and Bell

Daniel E. Holeman
Holeman Law Firm

Rebecca Richards Kutcher
Philanthropic Advisor

Jamie McDonald
Law Clerk for Chief Justice John Roberts,
United States Supreme Court

The Honorable Joseph W. Morris
Gable & Gotwals

The Honorable Layn R. Phillips
(BS ’74, JD ’77)
Irell & Manella LLP

Wm. Stuart Price (J.D. ’82)
Tulsa Business Leader

Harold W. Salisbury (J.D. ’88)
Oklahoma Offset, Inc.

Amy Santee
George Kaiser Family Foundation

Suzanne E. Schreiber
(B.A. ’95, J.D. ’99)

R. Thomas Seymour
Seymour and Graham, LLP

Nancy J. Siegel (J.D. ’83)
Former General Counsel to Mayor Kathy Taylor

J. Terrell Siegfried (J.D. ’02)
Hall Estill

Michael C. Turpen
(B.S. ’72, J.D. ’74)
Riggs, Abney, Neal, Turpen, Orbison & Lewis

Brian P. Utsey (J.D. ’05, LL.M. ’06)
Brian P. Utsey Esq. LLM

Margie Warren
Community Volunteer

Joel Wohlgemuth
Norman Wohlgemuth Chandler & Dowdell

Carl H. Young III (J.D. ’67)
Chairman and CEO, Bridge Associates LLC

“Some members of the board are alumni and thus have a stake in TU, while others are simply very excited about helping produce lawyers who are going to raise the standard of excellence in the Tulsa legal community and beyond,” Levit said.

Jimmy Hart