Dean Levit Leads Race Judicata Team in Tulsa Run

Wednesday, December 01, 2010

Janet Levit, Dean and Dean John Rogers Endowed Chair for the TU College of Law, led the college’s Race Judicata team of 25 faculty, staff, students, and alumni in the Tulsa Run on October 30.

Levit was one of two celebrity runners in the event. TU law alumnus Chad Smith (JD ’80), principal chief of the Cherokee Nation, was the other. They were selected in March of this year by event organizers to train for the 15-kilometer race that started and finished in downtown Tulsa. The event benefits a different charity each year – this year $25,000 went to Youth Services of Tulsa.

Tulsa Law - Tulsa Run Team

The Tulsa Run, which began in 1978, offers a classic urban race atmosphere with a wonderful tour through some of the most scenic and interesting parts of the city. As part of the event, there is a 5K run and a 2K fun run, but the main event is the 15K. The course starts in the heart of downtown, runs through sections of the historic Cherry Street district, continues through riverfront parks along the Arkansas River, then ends back downtown near the BOK Center.

Levit trained for the race under the guidance of exercise physiologist Gini McFarland at Hillcrest Exercise & Lifestyle Program. Levit liked having the goal of a race to work toward. She's talked with her law school students in class about the benefits of having a healthy body and the connection to performance in law school.

"Training for this race has been really motivational and helpful," Levit said. "I really like having a plan and following through. Exercising in the morning just really sets you up for a great day. Working toward physical goals helps people achieve professional goals. When you feel healthier, stronger, and more rested, it makes a difference in other aspects of your life.”

This year’s race was special for Levit as her 70-year-old father, Ed Koven, came from Highland Park, Ill., to participate in this year's race with her. He and Levit ran the Tulsa Run together several years ago as well.

In addition to Levit, the 2010 Race Judicata team members are: Laura Bachman, Kim Childers, Martha Cordell, Jason Edge, Monica Edris, Steven Freberg, Amber Gilbert, Colin Hughes, Brooks Huse, Ryan Kuzmic, Lou Lindsey, Jonas Lucas, Elizabeth McCormick, Jamie McDonald, Kathleen McNulty, April Merrill, Lynn Miller, Angela Monroe, Melanie Nelson, Heather Rahhal, Courtney Selby, Teymour Semnani, Devesh Taskar, and Rachel Wilhelm.

Scott Been