Class Notes: August 2010

Wednesday, September 01, 2010


Kenneth Snoke retired after 35 years as a federal prosecutor in the Northern District of Oklahoma. 


Mike Turpen (BS '72, JD '74) has been selected for inclusion in the Oklahoma Hall of Fame and will be formally inducted during a November 4 ceremony in Oklahoma City. A former Oklahoma Attorney General (1982-1986) and Muskogee County District Attorney (1977-1982), Turpen is widely known for his political commentary and his leadership has been instrumental for numerous civic boards and charitable organizations throughout the state and nation. He currently is a partner with Riggs, Abney, Neal, Turpen, Orbison, & Lewis Inc.


Judge Clancy Smith was appointed to the State Court of Criminal Appeals by Oklahoma Supreme Court Chief Justice James Edmondson.  She assumed her new duties on September 1, 2010.


Daniel Munley of the Munley, Munley & Cartwright Law Firm in Scranton, Pa., earned the classification of AV-rated attorney by Martindale-Hubbell. 


Christopher Siegle, a shareholder in the Phoenix office of Ryley Carlock & Applewhite, published a chapter titled "Facing the New Economy in 2010 with Effective Strategies for Business and Estate Plans" in the book, Family and Business Succession Planning, 2010 ed: Leading Lawyers on Evaluating Recent Trends, Navigating Uncertain Tax Laws, and Developing Creative Strategies for Families and Businesses (Inside the Minds). Christopher practices in estate planning, business strategies and employee benefits. 


Telisa Webb Schelin was recognized by the Dallas Business Journal as one of its 40 Under Forty for 2010.  Telisa is vice president and assistant general counsel with Behringer Harvard and lives in Dallas with her husband, James Schelin (BSBA ’94), and their daughter Ava. 

Cory Taylor has joined the law firm Roetzel & Andress LPA in Orlando, Fla.  Cory focuses her practice on commercial real estate.  She also is accredited as a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Professional by the U.S. Green Building Council. 


Chris Oddo, of the law firm McGinnis, Lochridge & Kilgore, has become the treasurer for the Austin Bar Association Board of Directors.


Rob Killen received the San Antonio North Chamber of Commerce Young Professional Award for Professional Leadership on June 22, 2010.


Dave Lilley, of Trinity Hughes Construction, was presented the Small Business Person of the Year Award by the Wichita Falls Chamber of Commerce & Industry.


Kevin Kornegay is currently employed as an Assistant Attorney General in American Samoa. 

In Memoriam


Mary Ann Balfour passed away on June 20, 2010, in Tulsa.  Mary worked as the administrative assistant to the dean of the TU College of Law until 1995.


Judge Anne Moroney passed away on June 27, 2010 at the age of 101.  Judge Moroney was a district judge for Okmulgee, Okfuskee, and Creek counties until she retired in 1994 at the age of 86. 


Robert Childers passed away on June 10, 2010, at the age of 89.  Robert operated his own practice for 30 years. 


Robert H. Critchfield passed away on May 10, 2010.


William C. Mitchell passed away on Wednesday, July 7, 2010, at the age of 49.  Bill was a life-long Tulsan and ran a successful private law practice for nearly 25 years. 


Katy Hough, Assistant Director for Law Alumni Relations