Fourteen Recent TU Law Graduates Receive Academic Hoods in December 17 Ceremony

Saturday, January 01, 2011

Fourteen recent University of Tulsa College of Law graduates received their academic hoods in a December 17 ceremony at TU’s John Rogers Hall in the Price & Turpen Courtroom.

The ceremony featured a welcome from Janet Levit, Dean and Dean John Rogers Endowed Chair for the college. Professor Lyn Entzeroth was the featured speaker. Professor Emeritus Martin Frey gave the invocation and benediction.

A reception in the Pit at John Rogers Hall followed the ceremony.

The graduates were Walter Biggs, Eric Chronister, Valerie Dye, Jason Edge, Peggy Haddock, William Lovin, Kathleen McNulty, Kenton Oates, Bradley Ritter, Shannon Smith, Derek Speck, DruShea Tate, Kenna Whelpley, and Katrina Wightman.

Speck and Whelpley graduated "with highest honor" (grade point average of 3.50 or higher). Whelpley was also honored with the Order of the Curule Chair (g.p.a. of 3.50 or higher and who has rendered distinguished service to the university).

Edge graduated "with honor" (g.p.a. of 3.25 or higher). Tate was honored with the Order of the Barristers, which is conferred upon graduating students who have excelled in moot court and mock trial activities.

Scott Been