Department of Energy Appoints Levit to US-Russia Energy Working Group

Wednesday, May 02, 2012

The U.S. Department of Energy appointed TU College of Law Dean Janet Levit as a project leader of a new initiative for the U.S.-Russia Energy Working Group (EWG).

As a project leader, Dean Levit will be part of the committee charged with identifying scholars and experts from both countries who, among other tasks, will prepare articles for publication in Energy Law in Russia and Energy Law Journal in the United States, featuring comparative studies of relevant energy law issues in the two countries. 

“This opportunity was a direct outgrowth of our energy law presence in China and illustrates some of the benefits of our internationalization strategy,” said Dean Levit of the appointment.

The bilateral cooperation on energy issues between the two countries dates back to the 1990s, and the EWG was later formalized as part of the Bilateral Presidential Commission. It is co-chaired by Secretary of Energy Steven Chu and Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation Sergei Shmatko. The two leaders expressed interest in a partnership that would draw upon legal expertise within each country to focus on legal scholarship of the U.S. and Russian energy sectors.

The project leaders will also prepare joint reports and studies as requested by the EWG co-coordinators, as well as find ways for contributors to share and discuss their findings.

Shari Erwin