Law Alumni Gala Inducts Five to Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

The weekend, now to be an annual tradition, honored the classes of 1960-62, 1970-72, 1980-82, 1990-92 and 2000-02.

The TU College of Law hosted its inaugural alumni reunion weekend on May 11 and 12. Events included a kick-off reception, a lunch and lecture and the Law Alumni Gala. 

Law GalaOn Friday, the College of Law hosted the kick-off reception in John Rogers Hall. Alumni from numerous classes gathered to reminisce and visit with old friends, colleagues and professors, while also receiving tours of John Rogers Hall and the Mabee Legal Center.

The festivities continued on Saturday, as alumni walked around their once and still familiar campus. Steve Turnbo, an alumnus of The University of Tulsa and Chairman Emeritus of Schnake Turnbo Frank Public Relations, hosted a lunch and continuing legal education session, the topic of which was the role of public relations in litigation.

The weekend culminated with the annual Law Alumni Gala, held this year at the Gilcrease Museum. New in 2012, The University of Tulsa College of Law Hall of Fame inducted its inaugural class.

This year’s five inductees were:

  • The Honorable Claire V. Eagan
  • Steadman Upham
  • S.M. “Buddy” Fallis (’60) Lifetime Achievement in Law recipient
  • James O. Goodwin (’65) W. Thomas Coffman Award for Community Service
  • Karen E. “Sunny” Langdon (’85) W. Thomas Coffman Award for Community Service

The TU College of Law Hall of Fame was created to honor the accomplishments of the college’s successful alumni, as well as those people who have had a significant impact on the College of Law professionally, through their financial support, or who have shown a deep personal commitment to the College.

The W. Thomas Coffman Award for Community Service is named in honor of Thomas Coffman, a former TU Law alumni president and cofounder of the law alumni board. Mr. Coffman was one of the College of Law’s most passionate, beloved, and vocal supporters, and had a profound impact on the community. The award is given to individuals who embody his spirit.

Shari Erwin