TU College of Law Dean Receives State Law Award

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Janet K. Levit, dean and Dean John Rogers Endowed Chair at The University of Tulsa College of LawJanet K. Levit, dean and Dean John Rogers Endowed Chair at The University of Tulsa College of Law, has been named a 2012 Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award recipient. Sponsored by the Oklahoma Bar Association Women in Law Committee, the award is distributed annually to five distinguished Oklahoma women in the legal profession.

Levit has been dean of the TU College of Law since 2008. In 2012, TU’s law school was named to the U.S. News and World Report’s list of top 100 law schools in the nation.

Levit is a magna cum laude graduate of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and holds a master’s degree in international relations from Yale University. In 1994, she earned her juris doctorate from Yale Law School where she worked as the book reviews and articles editor of the Yale Journal of International Law.

Her previous professional experience includes serving as law clerk for the chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit and for the chair of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights of the Organization of American States. Levit has practiced law in the private sector and in the international trade and finance areas at the Export-Import Bank of the United States. She currently writes on the topics of international finance and international human rights. Her most recent works have been published in the Emory Law Journal, Yale Journal of International Law, Harvard International Law Journal and the Columbia Journal of Transnational Law.

Levit’s philanthropic efforts include serving as co-chair of the Teach for America Oklahoma Advisory Board. She is a 2012 recipient of the Judge Linda Morrissey Award and is a 2012 finalist for The Journal Record’s Woman of the Year. She also was named to the Circle of Excellence, an honor reserved for those being selected for The Journal Record’s 50 Making a Difference for the third time.

Levit joins more than 80 other leading women in the Oklahoma legal arena who have received a Spotlight Award since 1996.

“It is an honor to be included with this group of dynamic female leaders who have forged the path to success within our profession,” she said.

The award was renamed in 1998 in honor of one of its first recipients and the first woman president of the OBA, the late Mona Salyer Lambird. New recipients are nominated and selected by previous award winners each year.