TLR Symposium

When & Where: Friday, September 28, 2012 8:45am – 4:30pm at The University of Tulsa College of Law, Wm. Stuart Price and Michael C. Turpen Courtroom, 3120 E. 4th Pl., Tulsa, Oklahoma.

CLE credits: Panels I and II are worth 1.5 credit hours; panel III is worth 2 credit hours; and Professor Gerken's responses are worth 1 credit hour.

Honoring the Work of

Heather Gerken, “Not Your Father’s Federalism”

Heather Gerken the J. Skelly Wright Professor of Law at Yale Law School appearing at the University Of Tulsa Law Review Symposium Heather Gerken, the J. Skelly Wright Professor of Law at Yale Law School, is a recognized expert in election law and constitutional law, having published in numerous scholarly journals and serving as commentator for national news media outlets, including The New York Times, CNN, NBC News, NPR, The Boston Globe, and the L.A. Times. Professor Gerken’s research centers on questions of applied democratic theory, including the role groups play in a democratic system, the translation of institutional design choices into manageable legal doctrine and the values associated with minority-dominated institutions. Her most recent scholarship explores questions of election reform, diversity and dissent.

The Symposium will consist of three panel discussions:

Panel I Federalism - CLE: 1.5 credit hours

Moderator - Professor Sam Halabi Assistant Professor of Law, The University of Tulsa

9:00 – 9:30am Professor David Schleicher Associate Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law

9:30 – 10:00am Professor Ernie Young Alston & Bird Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law

10:00 - 10:15am Q&A

Panel II Second-Order Diversity - CLE: 1.5 credit hours

Moderator - Professor Gerald Torres Chair in Law at the University of Texas Austin

10:30 – 11:00am Professor Franita Tolson Assistant Professor of Law, Florida State University College of Law

11:00 – 11:30am Professor Sanford Levinson W. St. John Garwood and W. St. John Garwood, Jr. Centennial Chair in Law and Professor of Government, University of Texas School of Law

11:30 – 11:45am Q&A

Panel III Dissent and Democracy - CLE: 2 credit hours

Moderator - Professor Lyn Entzeroth Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, The University of Tulsa

1:30 – 2:00pm Professor Guy Charles Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law

2:00 – 2:30pm Professor David Fontana Associate Professor of Law, The George Washington University Law School

2:30 - 3:00pm Professor Ilya Somin Professor of Law, Editor, Supreme Court Economic Review, George Mason University School of Law

3:00 – 3:15pm Q&A

Responses from Professor Heather Gerken - CLE: 1 credit hour

3:30 – 4:15pm Professor Heather Gerken

4:15 – 4:30pm Q & A


The Tulsa Law Review, now in its 48th year, is published four times annually by selected students of the TU College of Law. The Tulsa Law Review publishes outstanding works covering the full spectrum of the law that stimulate critical thinking, provoke legal debate and guide the law.

For more information, contact, or call (918) 631-5604.