Industry Advisory Council

Situated in the heart of America’s energy complex, The University of Tulsa enjoys many strong ties with the energy industry. TU graduates in business, law, petroleum and chemical engineering, geoscience, and other disciplines are actively involved in energy company leadership around the world. Consequently, these ongoing relationships and ties back to industry are one of the strongest selling points of the Master of Energy Business. From conception to implementation, the program has greatly benefitted from the direct input and generous support of industry representatives and partners.

To insure future success and alignment with the ongoing and evolving needs of industry, an advisory council of industry leaders convenes periodically to review progress and make recommendations. These individuals generously volunteer their time and energy to help make the program the very best it can be. While members rotate on and off of the panel as needed, the current membership consists of:

  • Jim Bender, Interim President and CEO, WPX Energy
  • Joe Burke, President and CEO, Novus Energy
  • John Chowdhury, Director, Utility Industry Practice, Fujitsu Network Communications
  • Stuart Crum, President, Bridgestone Retail Operations 
  • Randy Foutch, Chairman & CEO, Laredo Petroleum
  • John Hewitt, President and CEO, Matrix Service Company
  • Ralph Hill, CEO and Chairman, New Gulf Resources 
  • Merl Lindstrom, VP, Technology, Phillips 66
  • Pete Luitwieler, Management Consultant; Retired Chief Information Officer, Citgo Petroleum/PDVSA
  • C. Michael Ming, General Manager, GE Oil & Gas Technology Center 
  • Bob Parks, President, Superior Pipeline
  • Stacey Schmidt, Director of Marketing, D&L Oil Tools 
  • Greg Sills, Executive Vice President & Chief Decelopment Officer, Cobalt International Energy 
  • Stuart Solomon, President, Public Service of Oklahoma (an AEP company)
  • Norm Szydlowski, President and CEO Emeritus, SemGroup Energy Partners
  • Michael Teague, Oklahoma Secretary of Energy
  • Bob West, CEO, Anchor Drilling Fluids