Tulsa World Publisher Robert E. Lorton To Be Inducted Into The University of Tulsa Communication Hall of Fame

Tuesday, August 29, 2000

Robert E. Lorton, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of World Publishing Co. and publisher of the Tulsa World, has been named the 2000 inductee into The University of Tulsa Communication Hall of Fame.

He will be honored at a reception on Thursday, Sept. 21, at 5 p.m. at the Tulsa Press Club, Atlas Life Building, 415 S. Boston Ave.

A Tulsa native, TU graduate and TU trustee, Lorton’s distinguished service to Oklahoma journalism is matched by his dedication to community service. He has served as chairman of numerous Tulsa-area boards including those of the Metropolitan Tulsa Chamber of Commerce, Tulsa Area United Way, Philbrook Museum of Art, Tulsa Port of Catoosa Authority and Oklahoma Nature Conservancy.

His board service also includes the Boy Scouts of America, Salvation Army, Sutton Avian Research Center and F&M Bank and Trust Co.

Lorton served as co-chair with his wife, Roxana Lorton, also a TU graduate and TU trustee, of TU’s five-year New Century Campaign, which surpassed its $84 million goal to raise a record-setting $108.5 million for university scholarships, programs and facilities.

TU’s Lorton Hall is named in honor of Lorton’s grandfather, Eugene Lorton, the founding publisher of the Tulsa World.

Lorton is a member of the Oklahoma Hall of Fame, the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame and the Tulsa Historical Society Hall of Fame. Last year, he received the National Jewish Medical and Research Center Humanitarian Award.

In addition, he has been honored by the National Conference for Community and Justice (NCCJ) and by TU as a distinguished alumnus. Roxana Lorton also will be honored as a distinguished alumna at TU’s 2000 Homecoming festivities Oct 4-8.

The TU Communication Hall of Fame, founded in 1994, honors the memory of Edward Hennessy Johnson, who served as head of the TU journalism program from 1948-1971 and continued to teach until 1974.

Past inductees include broadcast journalists and TU alumni Jim Hartz and Bob Losure, the late Tulsa World managing editor Phil Dessauer, and the late Tulsa broadcast pioneer Saidie Adwon.

For more information on the TU Communication Hall of Fame, contact Jan Reynolds in the TU department of communication at 631-3805.