TU Women's and Gender Studies Program calls for Nominations

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Deadling for Submission is Friday, February 28, 2014

The TU Women’s and Gender Studies Program is accepting nominations for the 8th annual Linda J. Lacey Award for Mentoring Excellence. Our definition of a mentor is someone who advises, shares knowledge, supports and encourages, gives specific feedback, collaborates, helps create opportunities, and empowers others. We encourage nominations from students, faculty and staff. The nominee can also be any student, faculty or staff member at TU.

The award includes inscription on a plaque and $500 and will be presented at the WGS spring reception (tba).

Past Awardees:
2007--Rev. Nancy Eggen, United Campus Ministries
2008--Prof. Lara Foley, Department of Sociology
2009--Prof. Elana Newman, Department of Psychology
2010--Ms. Sherry Walkabout, Director of Paralegal Studies
2011--Prof. Joanne Davis, Department of Psychology
2012--Prof. Carol Lambert, Department of Communication Disorders
2013--Prof. Jan Wilson, Department of History

To nominate your favorite mentor for this award, please send the following information to Rev. Nancy Eggen, nancy-eggen@utulsa.edu, by Friday, February 28, 2014:

  • The name and contact information of your nominee
  • Your name and contact information
  • A one-page letter describing why you think the nominee is a great mentor; please provide specific examples

Holly Laird