The English Department faculty specialize in the following fields of research:

Randall Fuller, Chapman Professor of English, Chair. Nineteenth-century American Literature and American Studies.

Jennifer L. Airey, Associate Professor of English and Co-Editor, Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature; Restoration and Eighteenth-Century British Literature; Theater History; Gothic Literature; Women's Studies; Popular Culture.

Lars Engle, James G. Watson Professor of English. Early Modern British Literature, South African Literature, Critical Theory.

Grant Jenkins, Associate Professor of English and Director of the Writing Program. Experimental Poetry and Poetics, 19th and 20th Century American and British Literature, African American literature, Ethical and Critical Theory, Jewish American Literature, and Rhetoric and Composition..

Joseph A. Kestner, McFarlin Professor of English.  Nineteenth-century British Literature and Art, Classical Languages, Gender Studies, Film Studies. 

Holly Laird,  Professor and Executive Editor, Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature.  Nineteenth- and Twentieth-century British Literature, Women's Literature, Critical Theory.

Claudia Barbosa Nogueira,  Assistant Professor. Film Studies, Latin American Cinema, Road Movies, Comparative Literature, Literature of the Americas, Space/Place Constructions, National Constructions, Creative Writing, Short Fiction, Short Short Fiction.

Sean Latham,  Pauline McFarlin Walter Endowed Chair of English. Editor, James Joyce Quarterly and Director, Oklahoma Center for the Humanities.  Modernism, Joyce, Media Studies, Gaming, Periodical Studies.

Laura Stevens, Associate Professor and Editor, Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature.  Restoration and Eighteenth-Century British Literature, Colonial American Literature, Early Modern Transatlantic Culture, Women's Studies.

Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Henry Kendall Distinguished Professor of Languages and Literature.  Russian Poetry, European Cinema.  On September 22, 2012, an Italian translation of the poem, "Dora Franco: A Delayed Confession", earned international acclaim when Yevgeny Yevtushenko received the Lerici Pea, a prestigious Italian poetry prize. To receive the prize Yevtushenko visited the quaint but famous town of Liguria, a place that has enamored writers such as Lord Byron, Percy Shelley and Ernest Hemingway. Yevtushenko joins an elite group of recent recipients of the prize, which has been received by Ive Bonnefoy (France), Lawrence Ferlinghetti (USA), Hans Magnus Enzensberger (Germany), Adonis ( Siria), Jesper Swenbro (Algier) and Bella Akhvadulina (Russia).