Dr. Barry Kinsey honored

Friday, October 22, 2010

Long-time TU professor inducted into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

Barry KinseyUniversity of Tulsa Professor Emeritus of Sociology Barry Kinsey was inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame on Oct. 12, 2010.

Kinsey earned Outstanding Teacher Awards from the university and the Henry Kendall College of Arts and Sciences in 1996, and from the Panhellenic Council in 1995-96 and 1996-97. He has published two books in his field as well as more than 20 refereed articles and book chapters. Throughout his career, he has given countless presentations to groups across the country.

Kinsey also has offered his service to agencies involved in law enforcement and treatment of individuals suffering from chemical dependencies. He has been a member or chairman of more than 25 task forces and foundations that help people suffering from chemical abuse.

“The Hall of Fame award was the most significant honor that I have received,” Kinsey said. “It validates my career in all three traditional missions of higher education: research, teaching, and public service.”

In 1990, Kinsey was named Professional of the Year for Meritorious Service to the State of Oklahoma by the Oklahoma Drug and Alcohol Abuse Professional Counselors Certification Board. He also earned awards for his contributions from former Govs. Henry Bellmon in 1990 and Frank Keating in 1996.

Kinsey earned his doctoral degree from the University of Nebraska in 1961, specializing in the sociology of medicine, public health, substance abuse, and criminal justice. He taught at Gustavus Adolphus College in Minnesota for three years and at Oklahoma State University for five years before coming to TU.

Kinsey has taught at The University of Tulsa for the past 35 years, except for when he served on the staff of the U.S. Senate Budget Committee from 1977 to 1979. He once served as Chair of the TU Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice Studies and was named Professor Emeritus in 2003.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society. More than 150 leaders have been inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame since 1994.


Mona Chamberlin