TU Theatre Students and Faculty Receive Honors at Regional ACTF

Friday, March 12, 1999

Published on 3/12/99

Students and faculty from The University of Tulsa Department of Theatre were awarded several honors at the recent regional American College Theatre Festival. The group presented Lisa Loomer’s play “The Waiting Room.”

TU students Chad Siebert, Joel Sutliffe and Jeff Loyd advanced in the Irene Ryan Acting competition, out of a field of more than 150 nominees, to the semi finals round. Additionally, Sutliffe and Loyd were selected as two of the sixteen regional finalists.

Michael Frazier, also a student, won the regional scene design award for his work on “The Comedy of Errors.” He will attend the national scene design award presentations at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C., this April.

Robert Walters was named the Regional Winner of the Critic’s Institute award, and he will attend the national workshop in Washington, D.C. this spring. He also received a citation for individual performance in the production “The Waiting Room.”

Lisa Wilson, the director of the play and a professor of theatre at TU, received a Director’s Choice Award.

The ACTF is a national theatre education program which identifies and promotes quality in college-level theatre production.