Honors Program Recognizes Class of 2012

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

The 2012 Honors Program graduates were recognized at the Honors Completion Ceremony held Thursday, April 19, 2012, at the Faculty Club in the Allen Chapman Activity Center.  The honorees completed a rigorous program of six integrated courses taken in chronological sequence, from the Ancient through Medieval, Renaissance, Enlightenment and post-Enlightenment periods and maintained a minimum grade point average.  They were awarded medals and will receive a notation on their diplomas.  In addition to their sustained, interdisciplinary inquiry with the Honors Program, these Honors Scholars distinguished their scholarship through independent research, study abroad, and membership in academic societies like Phi Beta Kappa and Phi Kappa Phi.


2012 Honors ScholarsThe graduating Honors Scholars pictured are: (back row left to right) Jinan El Sabbagh, Elise Bonine,  September Hamel, Sarah Hagan,  Hillary Hellmann,  Augusta Wise, (seated left to right)  Brittany Duke, Marin Harper, Amelia Williamson. Not pictured are William Coats, Susan Dumond, Zoraya Hightower, Dylan Kearney, and David Wyatt. Also honored was alumnus Bashawn Hemingway who entered TU with this class and graduated in May 2011. 


Participation in the Honors Program is by admission only. Students interested in the Honors Program must submit a separate application to the Honors Program Office. Successful applicants for the program usually score in the 95th percentile of the ACT or SAT examination, have a GPA of at least 3.5, or rank in the top 10 percent of their graduating class.  For more information, visit the Honors Program website.



Denise Dutton