Institutional Biosafety

Institutional Biosafety Committee

The Institutional Biosafety Committee is established to ensure that facilities, procedures, practices, and training of research personnel are in compliance with requirements issued by the National Institutes of Health for research involving recombinant DNA molecules. The Committee, which is composed of at least five members, must include at least one member from a laboratory technical staff, and at least two members who are not affiliated with The University of Tulsa and represent the surrounding communities' interest in health and protection of the environment. The remaining members are selected from the University faculty. In addition to the Committee containing people with technical expertise, it also includes people that have an understanding of the University's commitments, policies, applicable law, standards of professional conduct and practice, and environmental concerns, or such individuals are to be accessible to the Committee. The Committee composition has a collective experience and expertise in recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules technology and the capability to assess the safety of recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules research experiments and any potential risk to public health or the environment.